Guarding Your Heart Series: Whatever is True

wpid-wp-1403219888817.jpeg

“FINALLY, BROTHERS,

WHATEVER IS TRUE,

WHATEVER IS HONORABLE,

WHATEVER IS JUST,

WHATEVER IS PURE,

WHATEVER IS LOVELY,

WHATEVER IS COMMENDABLE,

IF THERE IS ANY EXCELLENCE,

IF THERE IS ANYTHING WORTHY OF PRAISE,

THINK ABOUT THESE THINGS.”

Philippians 4:8

There is much talk about what truth is today. “What is ‘your’ truth?”  “I’m/That’s the truth” ” Find your truth” and so on. The primary thing this whole series should point to, is the fact that you cannot guard your heart from life. God is the One who guards your heart with His peace in every situation. One way we receive this peace and are able to experience it is through meditating on God’s word. God’s word is the Bible. The Bible should be the most important book that you read each day. I remember being in college and with all the reading, it was impossible to have a desire to read God’s word.  I felt like I already had so much to read!! I preferred listening to conference and church service messages or sermons then because it was more palatable.

It was true that I had a lot of reading to do. It was true that I needed to make time to read the most important book in my life. It’s true that I did not read God’s word like I should have and during times of stress and temptation, I fell short. My heart was not guarded. I was not prepared to cope with the cares of this world and I lost the SENSE of God’s peace. God’s Spirit was drawing me near most of those days and when His voice beckoned me to receive His peace and be still so that I could find direction in my life.

Even now, at times, I forfeit the peace that is mine, that Jesus left with me, with us, and I pick up “my truth”.

John 1 says, “ In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.…and the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we have seen his glory, glory as of the only Son from the Father, full of grace and truth.”

Jesus prays in John 17, “Sanctify them in the truth; your word is truth.” 

There are many, MANY passages on God’s word, the inerrancy of God’s Word, the concept of walking in truth and God’s truth.  God’s Word, Jesus, is truth. God’s Word, His way and the completeness of His thoughts were embodied in Jesus Christ as He lived through what He spoke to us and as He followed the Father’s way and will completely and perfectly.  Jesus left us His Spirit, the Holy Spirit of God, to teach us His Word, the words that He spoke.

Jesus says in John 14:25-27, These things I have spoken to you (the word) while I am still with you. 26 But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, he will teach you all things and bring to your remembrance all that I have said to you (the word). 27 Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.” [emphasis and parentheses mine]

Now we are back to God’s peace. Jesus encourages us HIMSELF by saying that we should not be afraid and that we should not let our hearts be troubled!!  Why? His peace is left with you to rule your heart! He says that He will send His Spirit to remind us of all the truthful words that He said and in the same passage, says He gives you His peace.

WHATEVER is TRUE- God’s Word is true, Jesus is true; so think on these things. Think about Jesus and His words to us.

Don’t cling to lies from the world that will tell you that your ways are best for you. Don’t believe that a day at the spa or a fancy vacation will bring you the peace you need. Don’t believe that your spouse will be your source of peace.  And most definitely don’t believe that your truth is THE truth or that all roads lead to God.

Thomas said to him, ‘Lord, we do not know where you are going. How can we know the way?’ Jesus said to him, I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.’” John 14:5-6

The lack of being filled with the truth of the Bible, will cause a troubled, anxious heart and you will believe so many lies, that the truth of the Bible will seem frivolous. Then what will you be meditating on? We all have heard the quote about watching your thoughts because your thoughts become actions and your actions become habits. I want God’s truth to be my thoughts. I want God’s truth to fuel my actions. I want God’s truth to be my habit. Whatever is true, think on theses things.

Read John1, John 14, John 17, 1 John 1 and Psalm 1

Leave a Reply

