Whatever is Learned, Do

“The things which you learned and received and heard and saw in me, these do, and the God of peace will be with you.”

PHILIPPIANS 4:9

Summer is pretty much gone, (officially in a few days) and the autumn season is upon us. We begin to notice that the leaves, as beautiful as they appear, are dying, falling, and making more yardwork for some of us. I’ve had an interesting summer. It has been very fruitful, in reflection of the season, yet without its hardships. I completed Insanity, which was trying, but developed a new discipline in my life. I am now a fitness instructor. I developed a children’s dance program, made new friends, took a few road trips, and took my first professional photos (which may not be much, but the Lord gave them to me as a gift and confirmed that moving forward with my business was exactly what He wanted from me).

Unfortunately, 21Verses hasn’t had a post since the 4th of July due to all the craziness that is life. God has taught me so much about relationships with others and my role in relation to the people I encounter.  Although we have skipped past a few parts, which will be revisited, from verse 8, verse 9 is where my heart is as fall approaches.

My prayer is that with new responsibilities, new positions, new work, new friends, and in a fairly new place, the call to reach those who don’t know Jesus and assist with the growth of other believers is still the same. It’s not a new phenomenon that you should be different within the workplace. There is no special new assignment for reaching those who need Jesus. There is no new assignment from Jesus. Everything that you have been called to and created to do is always under the umbrella of the Great Commission: “And Jesus came and spoke to them, saying, ‘All authority has been given to Me in heaven and on earth. Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.’ Amen.” Matthew 28:18,19

Paul reminds us of this in many of his letters but my focus is verse 9 of this chapter. Jesus commissions us to emulate His life based on all His teachings. Paul says the same and encourages discipleship. One mark of true believers in Jesus.

Leave a Reply

